top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMaira Oakar

Taking photos of pet rabbits. Yes, it was a challenge for me!

Updated: Mar 5, 2018

I had a big challenge when a client sent a message asking to take photos of her bunny, actually three bunnies. OMG!!


When a client sent a message asking to take photos of her bunnies I remember feeling SO EXCITED. Actually I felt a mix of excitement and fear! Why? Because it was my first time shooting bunnies and I had no idea how they behaved. Even though I have five years experience, I feel butterflies in my stomach so you can imagine how I felt when I accepted this job. Throw all your dog and cat experience out the window...Rabbits are nothing like them!


The "unknown" can always be a challenge, but that wasn't going to stop me. No matter what animal you are photographing, I find it very important to discover the pet's peculiarities. I asked the bunnies "mom" what I needed to know to avoid any sudden surprises. The funny thing is, she told me to "Be prepared for surprises. They are unpredictable!" The main challenge: Both of the bunnies didn't get along and I was going to have to place myself in good photographic positions when they weren't ripping each other into shreds.

"Lulu and Caboose don't get along. At home they have to stay in separate rooms but for the photos we need to find a way to get them together".

Before being a photographer, I was a biologist and for along time I worked with wild mammals. I was prepared for anything! Research is crucial to learning how to pose and position pet bunnies. There are specific strategies I use to avoid their wrath, keep them entertained and happy and to keep them focused on the task at hand. Everything happens so spontaneously, I have to be faster than a bullet in order to get great shots. Multi-tasking is another strategy: I focused on documenting details while at the same time using different treats to keep them occupied. I also used a blanket to wrap them together (knowing full well that that I only had micro-seconds to document them in this position). Patience, ...repeat....Patience is your magic word if you are thinking of becoming a Pet Photographer.


These two bunnies were a real handful, but a load of fun. Take a look at the results and you will see how fulfilling it is. Research is the key to taking photos of rabbits. Prepare, read, learn, think, study other photographer's work and be inspired always! At the end of this photo session I was happy with the results. I have to admit that it was difficult but in order to grow as artists, we must accept the challenges that force us to leave our comfort zones.











36 views0 comments
bottom of page